Fast Fact

We have a long tradition of leadership. Click here to view past Chairs.

Meet the Board

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

W1-brenda cherpitel_1104rcBrenda Cherpitel

Brenda’s passion for our community shows through her involvement in many professional and philanthropic causes. Following graduation from the University of Missouri-Columbia, she’s spent her career in marketing and business development, devoting more than 20 years to Hallmark and serving in senior management for two smaller companies.   

Today, she works with over 100,000 family physicians nationwide on behalf of the American Academy of Family Physicians Foundation, leading fundraising, marketing, strategic planning, and new program development for her organization. Through her service on WaterOne’s board, Brenda contributes a thoughtful, thorough approach to decision-making and an appreciation for the importance of exceptional communication with our customers. 

Current Term: 2013-2017

Previous Service: 2009-2013, 2007-2009

Administrative, Chair


W1-terry frederick_802rcTerry Frederick

As a Certified Public Accountant (CPA), Terry brings a wealth of experience in accounting and finance to the WaterOne Board. For over 20 years, he has directed the State and Local Corporate Tax Department at Sprint Nextel Corporation.  

Throughout his career, he’s maintained his involvement in professional associations as well as community service. Terry currently serves as the Board Chairman of the Council on State Taxation and as a member of the Tax Executives Institute and the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, among others. He previously served as a Councilman for the City of Prairie Village, Kansas, located in the heart of Johnson County. He holds degrees in Accounting and Business Administration from the University of Kansas.   

Current Term:

Previous Service: 2007-2011, 2003-2007, 2000-2003, 1991-1995


Finance, Chair


W1-rob olson_1403rcRobert Olson


Decades ago, Robert chose Johnson County as the place he wanted to make his home, build a business, and raise a family. Since then, he’s dedicated himself to leadership on local issues.

He currently serves in the Kansas Senate following three terms in the Kansas House of Representatives. In the legislature he has served as the Majority Whip of the House and currently serves as the Chair of the Financial Institutions & Insurance Committee. His other committee appointments include the Utilities, Commerce, Federal and State Affairs, Organization, Calendar and Rules, and the Social Services Subcommittee of Ways and Means.  

Current Term: 2015-2019

Previous Service: 2007-2011, 2003-2007, 1999-2003, 1995-1999


Mark ParkinsMark Parkins

Mark was selected to serve the remainder of the unexpired position 7 board term. He was sworn in on February 9, 2016. 

Mark is an engineer by training and trade. He is currently a territory manager with the American Cast Iron Pipe Company.  

Parkins lives in Leawood and is a 33 year resident of Johnson County. Prior to his interest in serving with WaterOne, he has been involved with the Boy Scouts of America, the American Water Works Association, his church, and is past president of his home owners association. Parkins holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Engineering from Purdue University.

Current Term: February 2016 - 2019


Government & Community Relations

W1-bob reese_901rcBob Reese

Vice Chairman

Since joining the Board in 1993, Bob’s expertise in finance and information technology has influenced WaterOne. With a focus on protecting critical infrastructure and connecting financial management to long-range planning, Bob is adept at identifying risk and addressing contingencies. He has twice served as Board Chairman and Vice Chairman.

Among his professional achievements, Bob currently serves as an Enterprise Security Analyst for Burns & McDonnell Engineering, Inc. His career has focused on information and network security, information systems planning, and computer and financial auditing. He’s held positions with GE Insurance Solutions and Sprint and as principal and owner of his own consulting firm, 22 Consulting. Bob is a member of Information Systems Security Association (ISSA), High Technology Crime Investigation Association (HTCIA), and the FBI’s InfraGard program. 

In addition to a degree in Business Accounting and Business Administration from the University of Kansas, Bob is a Certified Public Accountant (CPA) and a Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP). He has been involved with various charitable organizations and activities in addition to his long-standing service to WaterOne’s ratepayers.

Current Term: 2013-2017

Previous Service: 2013-2017, 2009-2013, 2005-2009, 2001-2005, 1997-2001, 1993-1997

Retirement, Chair

W1-jim vader_1304rcJim Vader

Jim’s history of leadership on WaterOne’s Board reflects his long-standing commitments to his profession and community. As owner and President of Vader Insurance, Inc., he’s been an independent insurance agent for over 50 years. He is past chairman of the Kansas City, Kansas Insurance Agents Association, past president of Wyandotte & Johnson County Mental Health Association, and past president of Kansas State University Kansas City Catbackers Club. His leadership experience also includes service as past president of the Parish Council at St. Ann’s Church, where he is a long-time member.  

Through his involvement with WaterOne, Jim takes on the responsibility to fully understand the utility’s operations as well as the industry of water providers to which we belong. Beyond WaterOne, Jim has been involved with the American Water Works Association Public Officials Committee.  

He holds a degree in Business Administration from Kansas State University and has been a Johnson County resident for 48 years.

Current Term: 2013-2017

Previous Service: 2009-2013, 2005-2009, 2001-2005, 1997-2001, 1991-1995

Operations, Chair
Government & Community Relations


2015 Dennis WilsonDennis Wilson

Dennis is an established local businessman, having started his career in auto sales in 1968. From there he developed and managed a number of local companies in which he maintains an active interest. Since 2010, he has been the Business Development Officer for Freedom Bank representing the bank’s commercial services to business clients in the metropolitan area.

Dennis’s public service includes two terms in the Kansas House of Representatives from 1995 to 1999 before he became the director of unclaimed properties in the state treasurer’s office. He worked in that position for two years, then was elected Johnson County treasurer from 2001 to 2005 and a state senator for the 37th District from 2005 to 2009. Following his term, Dennis also served an appointment as Executive Director of the Kansas Lottery.

Dennis is a 40-year Johnson County resident, having watched it grow and prosper over four decades. He sees his service on the WaterOne Board as an opportunity to contribute his business knowledge and ensure that the continued growth of Johnson County is sustained by an essential high-quality water supply. He has been involved in many civic organizations and is a veteran of the United States Air Force.

Current Term: 2015-2019

Government and Community Relations, Chair